Back to Class with Professor Ken Miller '70

Brown Club of Seattle

Seattle, Washington, United States

September 20 2019, 6:30 PM Eastern Standard Time

Back to Class with Professor Ken Miller '70
Washington Athletic Club
1325 Sixth Ave.
Seattle, WA 98101
young alumni '14-'19$10
alumni, family and friends$15

You're invited to go 
Back to Class 

Professor Ken Miller '70 
Professor of Biology
Royce Family Professor for Teaching Excellence 

Science Denial:
What Causes it, and What
Can Be Done About It?

Public opinion in the world’s leading scientific nation continues to demonstrate a surprising unwillingness to embrace the scientific consensus on issues affecting the wellbeing and prosperity of the country and the world. While it might seem logical to attribute the prevalence of anti-science attitudes to religious dogma or factual unawareness, the roots of this problem go far deeper, and relate to popular perceptions of science and scientists. I will consider multiple aspects of science denial, and suggest how the scientific enterprise and science education need to change to reclaim the cultural high ground in American society.


Ken Miller '70 is Professor of Biology and Royce Family Professor for Teaching Excellence. After graduating from Brown, he earned a Ph. D in 1974 at the University of Colorado. He then spent six years as Assistant Professor at Harvard before returning to Brown in 1980. He is life sciences advisor to The News Hour on PBS and coauthor of the nation's leading high school biology textbook. In addition to his research work in cell biology, he has written extensively on evolution, and in 2005 he served as lead witness in the Kitzmiller v. Dover trial on evolution and intelligent design. His books include Finding Darwin's God: A Scientist's Search for Common Ground between God and Evolution (2009) and Only a Theory: Evolution and the Battle for America's Soul (2008). His most recent book, The Human Instinct: How we evolved to have Reason, Consciousness, and Free Will (2018), was chosen for the 2019 Brown University Book Award.

Among his honors are the Public Understanding of Science Award from AAAS, the Stephen Jay Gould Prize from the Society for the Study of Evolution, the Gregor Mendel Medal from Villanova University, and the Laetare Medal from Notre Dame University


See Who's Coming

  • Waller D. Elliott Ph.D.
  • Michael Y. Han M.D.
  • Rebecca T. Morris
  • Corina L. Peters
  • John R. House
  • Melissa B. Glerum
  • David N. Chichester
  • Hilde Chichester
  • Christy Baggett
  • William G. Mowat
  • Katerina E. Zouboulakis
  • William H. Sano
  • Iuliu Balibanu
  • Dawn E. Aiken
  • Miguel Cardoso de Campos
  • Jeanne Buse
  • Birgit H. Grimlund
  • Ruthann Lorentzen
  • Edward W. Sheets
  • Maaike N. Tiersma
  • Karen Johnson
  • Gary E. Oppenheim M.D.
  • Julie A. Oppenheim
  • Mike Baggett
  • Joshua S. Nowlis Ph.D.
  • Charles Davis
  • Jonis H. Davis
  • Ian T. Peters
  • Kristen Y. Han
  • Ana Sofia Sousa-Brindle
  • Alec W. Brindle Jr.
  • James O. Todd
  • MAK Mitchell
  • Alan R. Mitchell Ph.D.